The following e-mail, claiming to be from MSN and asking you to submit your personal information, is making its way to many inboxes. This is however NOT an official e-mail from MSN but rather a phishing attempt.
--8<-----------------
Dear MSN Customer,
During one of our regular automatical verification procedures we've encountered a technical problem caused by the fact that we could not verify the information that you provided during registration.
We urgently ask you to submit your information so that we could fully verify your identity, otherwise an access to MSN services for your account will be deactivated until you pass verification process.
To submit your information please use our secure online application - update info.
Thank you for using our services, MSN Payment Processing Department
--8<-----------------
Clicking on the "update info" link in these e-mails will direct you to a page on domains like msn-network.com or msn-club.com. These are NOT official MSN domains but bogus sites set up to steal your information with the intention to spam or commit identity theft.
A variation to this e-mail mentions actual MSN Messenger downtimes as a cause of data loss.
You can ignore these e-mails completely.
[Reported by: Huuf & Dan]